Need help with Stihl 066 Magnum

Jason280

Reaction score
I've been running a couple Husqvarna 372 & 575XPs for a few years, but have been looking for something with more displacement to run a 32" bar. I recently ran into a deal on a Stihl 066 Magnum that I couldn't pass up, so I added it to the saw pile. Well, its been an absolute PITA from day one.

When I first got the saw, it would crank easily, pull well through the RPM range to WOT, but simply wouldn't idle. The saw would promptly die without feathering the throttle. I attempted to adjust the LA screw, but there wasn't enough adjustment to get the saw to idle. Assuming the H & L screws were out of whack, I went to tweaking them with an RPM gauge to try and get the saw set up perfectly. This turned out to be a failure. I started with both jets 1 turn out from stop, and was able to get the saw to idle fairly well around 2800 RPM with a handheld tach. Problem is, it had sluggish acceleration, an intermittent idle surge to 4k+, and would intermittently be very slow to idle back down once the throttle was released from max throttle. I could adjust the L jet to get the throttle response issues and surging idle corrected, but it returned right back to the saw not wanting to idle. I've confirmed that the idle screw is making positive contact with the throttle arm on the carb.

So, I went back to step one. Here's what I've done so far:
-Tore down & completely cleaned carb (removed jets, etc)
-Rebuilt carb with Stihl rebuild kit (new gaskets, fuel metering lever, etc)
-Changed plug to correct NGK, gapped 0.020 (previous was Champion CJ8, not the correct plug)
-New fuel filter, fuel line in tank, and impulse hose
-Flywheel cleaned, ignition module gapped to 0.008"
-Checked compression, 150 psi