Quantcast
  • If you are having problems logging in please use the CONTACT US in the lower right hand corner of the forum page for assistance.

Sharpenin' Thread.

BloodOnTheIce

~Ice Gangsta~
Reaction score
Here's a little tutorial on how I sharpen chains, the chain here is a Stihl .325 x .063 RMC3 semi chisel chain.

I'm not an expert, but I do sharpen alot of chains every week and they seem to cut well for my customers.

The left side had hit something pretty good and was rounded over, the right was just a little dull and was
cutting to the one side according to the customer.

I'll have to grind it back to the red line to get it to put an edge on it. And I'll have to correct the
top plate angle.

My angle for this chain are
30 degree on the top plate

Most chains I stick with a 65 degree down angle, except ripping chains.

And adjust to the proper chain thickness, since I have one of grinders with the hydraulic
chain clamp. And you can see how damaged the left side is compared to the right

Last edited:

BloodOnTheIce

~Ice Gangsta~
Reaction score
I adjust my wheel so it just contacts the tooth and doesn't quite bottom out in the gullet

Since the chain is damaged I'll have to make 3-5 passes around to get it back far enough
to make a clean cutting edge. There will be some tweeking my adjustments as I go along

This is after the first pass, the edge is still rounded over, and I haven't gone all the way into the gullet

2 more passes and I'm calling it good, tooth has a good edge
That's not a bur on the tooth just some crud.

The rakers are a tad high, but since this chain is off a MS250, don't want to make them to low.

Knocked them down to .025 and the chain is good to go.
Main thing hear is to have a good profile on the top of the raker.

Last edited:

NORMZILLA44

Reaction score