Well Project 2013

WoodChuck'r

HNIC
Staff member
Jan 8, 2012
Upstate NY - Southern Tier
Finally got this project goin' with the little warm spell we've had. I've been hauling water since 2008 and it's finally time to do up a well.

Simple enough project really - dig a 4ft by 4ft by 8ft deep hole, toss in a 10' piece of 24" culvert vertically, back fill the hole with pea stone, and let'er fill.

I wanted to dig the whole thing by hand. I had my buddy Branden help me out with the project. On Thursday we got the first 4' no problem (took a full day of digging). The first foot was topsoil, the next 3ft was a brown colored hardpacked clay (heavy as hell but it stayed in tact and didn't collapse or break apart). The next 4ft was a different story. It's a grey colored clay, and when it gets saturated it turns practically into soupy quicksand. Water started to gather in the hole and almost instantly that stuff was really hard to scoop out. I tried and tried to shovel/scoop it out by hand but it continually kept filling in from the sides. The walls wouldn't stay up like the 3ft of brown clay above it, it was literally like pancake batter. I had a huge desire to do the whole thing by hand but I wasn't able to scoop it out faster than it would flow back in, so I bugged my neighbor down the road who has a backhoe. He shoveled it out in about 30 minutes and we got the pipe in.

Starting the dig.

Dan (the westspartan) givin' me a hand.

MuddChuck'r

That was the first day. We got down to a little over 4ft deep (but we got the center hole to about 6ft deep with the post hole diggers). The hole didn't fill with water right away like I had expected, so there were some doubts that this part of the yard was even going to work. But by Friday morning, there was over 6' of standing water in that hole. :)